Monthly Archives

August 2020

We fed 2810 children this week !

By | Uncategorized | No Comments

Another month of daily feeding during the week gone!! We are ever so grateful to our donors. The children keep coming, numbers keep increasing and this continues to be the sad reality. We are making gentle steps, making the best of available resources to light up the candle in the darkness. Thank you parents, guardians and caregivers for making sure the children are wearing masks. Must say the level of your creativity providing masks for the children has been amazing. Together we have hope for a better future.

Monday 23rd August – 500 children

Tuesday 24th August – 525 children

Wednesday 25th August – 600 children

Thursday 26th August – 680 children

Friday 27th August – 505 children

We fed 2889 children this week

By | Uncategorized | No Comments

Temperatures dropped on Friday and that could have possibly led to the decrease in numbers of children bracing the cold weather to come and receive their semolina porridge

Monday 17th August 500 children
Tuesday 18th August 525 children
Wednesday 19th August 624 children
Thursday 20th August 700 children
Friday 21st August 540 children

We fed 3503 children this week!!!

By | Uncategorized | No Comments


We continue feeding the children while it is most apparent that our scholars will not make it too school any time school, even anytime this year. It is a dream far beyond the wildest imagination for our community to even imagine the possibility of online lessons for our little ones. We wait patiently for the situation to get better and simply take each day as it comes with its blessings and challenges. Meanwhile the feeding need is rising and we are praying and trusting that we continue to rise to the occasion and be able to feed ALL the children that will come to the centre with semolina porridge. Numbers have almost doubled and over 600 children turning daily. It is indeed sad for our country and we are ever so grateful to the support that we are getting to meet the current but rising need. We are also grateful for the break of spring , temperatures warming up helping the controlling of the spread of the deadly COVID-19 pandemic. Today we must also mention our pregnant young woman beneficiary who we did not deliberately include in our numbers. She is a go-getter and convinced us she gets her baby’s share until she delivers her baby who is due anytime soon. Yes we have been feeding the baby through our special beneficiary who has been daily joining the queue on our future bambino’s behalf!!!! Our feeding numbers this week were as follows:-

Monday 10th July 2020 – 642 children
Tuesday 11th July 2020 – 685 children
Wednesday 12th July 2020 – 700 children
Thursday 13th July 2020 – 725 children
Friday 14th July 2020 – 751 children

2310 children fed this week!!

By | Uncategorized | No Comments

We were restocking last week but we didn’t want to miss a single day of not feeding the children. We had spread out the existing stock as much as possible result in limited numbers of children fed. This week we began feeding less children as the notion of limiting was still lingering around until further into the week when we started reaching out to more children. We are excited that we fed 606 children on Friday much as this is sad for our country. We are strengthening extremely threatened if not closely to non existent food security in the Caledonia Community. It gives us utmost satisfaction seeing the hope on the little faces served with semolina porridge .The COVID-19 imposed lockdown is a nightmare for the marginalized Caledonia Community already reeling under difficult economic hardships

Monday 3rd August 380 children

Tuesday 4th August 390 children

Wednesday 5th August children

Thursday 6th August 542 children

Friday 7th August 606 children

1652 Children fed this week!

By | Uncategorized | No Comments

1652 children fed this week!!
We had to limit numbers as we were restocking and needed to ensure we did not miss a single day of feeding. It turned out we managed to serve all the children that came out to be fed on Friday as parents seemed to have kept their children indoors in the lockdown because on this day, companies and businesses were closed with minimum movements in Zimbabwe. Looking forward to serving all the children coming to Caledonia Rose Centre next-week as we have restocked semolina porridge.
Monday 27th July 2020 – 350 children
Tuesday 28th July 2020 – 350 children
Wednesday 29th July 2020 – 352 children
Thursday 30th July 2020 – 350 children
Friday 31st July 2020 – 250 children